CPDD Announces 2023 Awards for Excellence Recipients

Brentwood, TN - The College on Problems of Drug Dependence (CPDD) is proud to announce the 2023 Awards for Excellence recipients.

Martin and Toby Adler Distinguished Service Award
Jack Bergman, PhD, Mclean Hospital, Harvard Medical School

The Distinguished Service Award was presented for the first time in 1994. The name was changed by CPDD to the Martin and Toby Adler Distinguished Service Award. The Award was established to honor individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the field of drug abuse beyond scientific contributions which further the mission of CPDD.


Joseph Cochin Young Investigator Award
Justin Strickland, PhD, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

The Joseph Cochin Young Investigator Award, in memory of a respected leader in drug abuse research and a former Chairman and Executive Secretary of CPDD, was established in 1986 to recognize research contributions in any facet of the field of drug abuse. It is given annually to an investigator who has demonstrated excellence in their field of research, authored several publications, and not attained his/her 40th birthday by July 1st in the year of the award.


Mary Jeanne Kreek Underserved Populations Award
Denise Hien, PhD, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

This award is named after Mary Jeanne Kreek, who, along with her colleagues, Vincent Dole and Marie Nyswander, had a leading role in the development and implementation of methadone. Dr. Kreek’s pioneering work fostered dignity and respect in the treatment of patients with heroin addiction, and she was a long-time proponent of diversity, equity and inclusion (DEI) research. This award was established in 2022 to recognize scientists who have focused their research efforts on improving the lives of individuals from underserved populations with substance use problems.


CPDD Mentorship Award
Dace Svikis, PhD, Virginia Commonwealth University

The CPDD Mentorship Award, established in 2000, is given annually to a member of CPDD who has been an exemplary mentor to developing researchers in the field of drug dependence. Individuals should be nominated by a former or current trainee.



Marian W. Fischman Lectureship Award
Joy Schmitz, PhD, University of Texas Health Science Center

This award in memory of Marian W. Fischman, a respected leader in drug abuse research and an outstanding scientist, was established in 2001 to recognize the contributions of an outstanding woman scientist in drug abuse research.



Nathan B Eddy Memorial Award
Edythe London, PhD, University of California Los Angeles

The Nathan B. Eddy Memorial Award was established in memory of one of the pioneers in the field of drug dependence following his death in 1973. The award acknowledges outstanding research efforts that have advanced our knowledge of drug dependence.



Please join CPDD in celebrating this year's recipients during the Tuesday evening Awards Dinner at this year's Annual Meeting.